Loading Events
09/09/2020 @ 14:00 - 15:00

A Comprehensive Approach to Energy Storage

EASE and MEP Claudia Gamon were pleased to invite you on 9 September 2020 to a webinar presenting the European Parliament’s ITRE Committee Own Initiative Report on energy storage.

MEP Claudia Gamon presented “A comprehensive European Approach to Energy Storage” an ITRE Committee Own-Initiative Report that outlines an ambitious EU-wide strategy for energy storage. The report, adopted in the ITRE Committee on 29 June 2020 and overwhelmingly adopted in the plenary on 10 July 2020, recognises the crucial role for storage in reaching the goals of the Paris Agreement on Climate change.

A panel discussion with shadow-rapporteurs MEP Maria Spyraki, MEP Ville Niinistö and MEP Niels Fuglsang followed the presentation.


Claudia Gamon is an Austrian Member of the European Parliament and a passionate liberal to the core. She is the NEOS spokesperson for all things European and sits with the Renew Europe group in the EP. Previously, the 31-year-old represented NEOS as a member of the Austrian Parliament. In her work, she focuses mainly on the topics digitalisation, science, research, energy and technological progress. Claudia Gamon studied International Business Administration and International Management at the Vienna University of Economics and the Université Catholique de Louvain. She gained her first political experience in 2011 when she was the leading candidate for the Young Liberals in the Austrian Students’ Union.

Claudia Gamon brings European politics to your screen as @diegamon on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

More at: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/meps/en/197632/CLAUDIA_GAMON/home


Eva Chamizo Llatas, EASE President and Director of European Affairs and Head of the Iberdrola Brussels Office. Eva Chamizo Llatas has been the Director of European Affairs and Head of the Iberdrola Brussels Office since October 2015. Eva holds a Masters and Bachelor in Law, she is member of the Government´s Legal Service (Cuerpo de Abogados del Estado) on voluntary leave. Prior to this, she worked as an attorney in the private sector.

She is an expert in European Union Law and was Head of the Legal Service of the Spanish Permanent Representation to the European Union from July 2001 until September 2015.



Maria Spyraki is the awarded MEP of the year 2019 for Industry, Research, and Innovation. She is now serving in her second mandate in the European Parliament as member of the Committees on Industry, Research, and Energy (ITRE), on Regional Development (REGI) and on the Environment (ENVI). She has also worked for 22 years as a journalist in her home country Greece.

She has also worked in the Press Office of the European Parliament in Athens from 2003 to 2004, as well as the office of Greek Commissioner to the EU, Mr Stavros Dimas, for the period 2004-2009. Maria Spyraki has served as the Spokesperson of Nea Demokratia and is an elected member of the Nea Demokratia Executive Board. Her first degree is in Chemistry and she also has an MSc at economics and energy policy.

More at: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/meps/en/125064/MARIA_SPYRAKI/home


Niels Fuglsang is a Social Democrat by heart. Born and raised in the small Danish province Thy, Niels believes firmly in the Danish welfare model and a local as well as European green transition. He is a member of the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE) and of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON).

Niels has a Master’s degree in Political Science from the University of Copenhagen and is currently finishing a PhD degree at Copenhagen Business School. Besides working for the Danish independent centre-left think tank CEVEA, Niels has previously acted as advisor to the former MEP Dan Jørgensen, who currently serves as the Danish Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities.

Niels Fuglsang is determined to use his experience to create a strong, new green agenda for the Parliament, starting with a commitment to the European Green Deal and a greener common agricultural policy.

More at: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/meps/en/101585/NIELS_FUGLSANG/home


Ville Niinistö is a Member of the European Parliament. He is the Greens/EFA groups coordinator in the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy.

Niinistö served as Finland’s Minister of the Environment from 2011 to 2014. Niinistö is a former member of the Finnish parliament, former party leader of the Green Party of Finland and a current member of the city council of Turku.

Niinistö has a master’s degree in political science from the University of Turku. Before being elected to the parliament in 2007 he worked as a doctorate student in political history (Finnish foreign policy) at the University of Turku in Finland.

Besides politics, Niinistö enjoys both playing and following football, walks with his dog and spending time in the nature of the archipelago southwest of Finland. Now he is living between Helsinki, Turku and Brussels, previously he has been staying in Stockholm, Indonesia and London.

More at: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/meps/en/197802/VILLE_NIINISTO/home


Dr Tudor Constantinescu is Principal Adviser to the Director-General for Energy in the European Commission. He is an engineer and economist by education.

Before joining the Commission, he set up as Executive Director of the Buildings Performance Institute Europe. He was the president of the Romanian Agency for Energy Conservation and for the period 2008-2009, he ensured the presidency of the EnR network of European Energy Agencies. Between 1996-2007, he coordinated the energy efficiency and related environmental activities of the Energy Charter Secretariat in Brussels.


14:00 - 15:00
Event categories
Events, EASE Event