Day 1 - Technology - Tuesday, 27 September 2016

09:30 Opening of Registration and of Exhibition

10:00-10:15 **Official Opening**

Dr Piotr Szymanski

Director, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

10:15-10:45 **Energy Storage Innovation Support**

Dr Stathis Peteves

Head of Unit Knowledge for the Energy Union, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

10:45-11:10 Session I - Grid Integration of Decentralised Storage



Mr Remy Garaude Verdier Smart Grids Project Manager, Enedis

Followed by Q&A

11:10-11:35 Session II - Market and Technology Development of PV Battery Systems in Germany



Mr Kai-Philipp Kairies

Team leader Market Development of Storage Systems, RWTH Aachen University

Followed by Q&A

11:35-12:05 Coffee break in the Exhibition area

12:05-12:30 Session III - Batteries for Frequency Control



Dr Hans Wolf von Koeller Head of Energy Policy, STEAG

Followed by Q&A

12:30-12:55 Session IV - Innovative Flywheels



Mr Frank Burke Technical Director, Schwungrad Energie

12:50-12:55 Followed by Q&A

12:55-14:10 Networking lunch in the Exhibition area

14:10-14:35 Session V - Next Generation Battery Storage



Mr Michael Lippert Marketing & Business Development Manager - Energy Storage Business Unit, Saft Vice-President, EASE

Followed by Q&A

14:40-15:20 Session VI - Experiences with Flow Batteries



Mr Guido Dalessi CEO, Elestor



Dr Peter Steunenberg Chief Chemist, ICL-IP Terneuzen BV

Followed by Q&A

15:20-15:50 Coffee break in the Exhibition area

15:50-16:30 Session VII - Disruptive Battery Technology



Mr Chis Campbell Chief Marketing and Business Development Officer, 24M



Mr Jan-Hendrik Ernst Senior Application Engineer, Maxwell Technologies

Follozed by Q&A

16:30-16:50 Session VIII - Long Term Storage through Connection of Energy Carriers



Mr Hans Veldkamp Geoscientist – Sustainable Geo Energy, TNO

Followed by Q&A

17:00-17:30 Lessons learned/Observations from Day 1



Dr Andreas Zucker Scientific / Technical Project Officer, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

Opening Dinner at Halles St Géry



Keynote Speech

Mr Alexander Micovčin

Deputy Permanent Representative,

Representation of the Slovak Republic to the EU



Mr Claude Turmes Member of the European Parliament





Day 2 - Policy - Wednesday, 28 September 2016

08:30 Opening of Registration and of Exhibition

09:00-09:15 Welcome and Opening Statement

Dr K. Peter Röttgen Vice-President Market Interface Management, Uniper Innovation President, EASE

09:15-09:30 Keynote Speech

Mr Dominique Ristori Director General, DG Energy, European Commission

09:30-11:00 Session I - Enabling Energy Storage: European Energy Market Design

Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE

Mr Tudor Constantinescu Principal Advisor to the Director-General Ristori, DG Energy, European Commission

Dr Konstantin Staschus Secretary General, ENTSO-E



Mr Garrett Blaney

Co-Chair DSO Working Group, Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER); Commissioner, Commission for Energy Regulation (CER)



Mr Michel Matheu Head of EU Strategy, EDF

Followed by Q&A

11:00-11:30 Coffee break in the Exhibition area

11:30-12:30 Session II - Ownership of Energy Storage by regulated system operators?



Moderator: Mr Graeme Steele

Senior Advisor, Centre on Regulation in Europe (CERRE)



Mr Andrew Burgess

Chair, Smart Grids Co-ordination Task Force, CEER; Associate Partner - Energy Systems (Flexibility), Ofgem



Mr José Luis Mata Vigil-Escalera

Head of Regulatory Affairs & Studies Department, Red Eléctrica de España (REE)



Dr Andreas Ehrenmann Chief Analyst, ENGIE

Followed by Q&A

12:30-14:00 Networking lunch in the Exhibition area

14:00-15:15 Session III - International Insights from Energy Storage Policy



Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE



Mr Matt Roberts Executive Director, Energy Storage Association (ESA)



Mr Rob Harvey Chair, Energy Storage Ontario; Director, Energy Storage, Hydrogenics



Mr Debi Prasad Dash Manager, Indian Energy Storage Alliance (IESA)

Followed by Q&A

15:15-16:00 Coffee break in the Exhibition area

16:00-17:00 Session IV - Publicly Funded Research and Innovation (R&I)



Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE



Ms Andreea Strachinescu

Head of Unit C2 – New energy technologies, innovation and clean coal, DG Energy, European Commission



Ms Rowena McCappin

Project Business Director, Glen Dimplex, on RealValue project and BRIDGE initiative insights



Dr Allan Schrøder Pedersen

Head of Section (Energy Systems Analysis), Department of Energy Conversion and Storage, Technical University of Denmark (DTU) on GRID+Storage project



Mr Cédric Thoma

Policy Advisor, French Ministry of Environment, Energy and Sea

Followed by Q&A

17:00-17:30 Lessons learned/Observations from Day 2



Mr Jillis Raadschelders Head of Department Renewables & Storage, DNV GL Vice-President, EASE

Gala Dinner at the Atomium



Keynote Speech
Mr Michael Waldron
Energy Investment Analyst,
International Energy Agency (IEA)





Day 3 - Market - Thursday, 29 September 2016

8:30 Opening of Registration and of Exhibition

Welcome and Opening Statement 09:00-09:15

Mr Troy Miller Board Chair, Energy Storage Association (ESA) Director of Grid Solutions, S&C

09:15-09:30 Keynote Speech

Mr Maroš Šefčovič Vice-President in charge of the Energy Union, European Commission

09:30-10:30 Session I - Business Cases for Energy Storage Deployment



Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE



Ms Claire Addison Government & Regulatory Affairs Manager, AES UK & Ireland



Mr Gunnar Wrede Head of Regulatory & Government Relations, Younicos



Mr Bert Claessens Senior Researcher, REstore

Followed by Q&A

10:30-11:30 Session II - Self-Consumption and Energy Storage Behind-the-meter



Moderator: Mr Haike van de Vegte Senior Consultant - New Energy Technologies, DNV GL; Leader TF on End Users, EASE



Mr Andrea Villa Head of European Regulation, Enel



Ms Frauke Thies Executive Director, Smart Energy Demand Coalition (SEDC)

Followed by Q&A

11:30-12:00 Coffee break in the Exhibition area

12:00-13:00 Session III - Energy Storage as a Complement to Generation



Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE



Ms Anissa Dehamna Principal Research Analyst, Navigant Research



Mr Michael Koller CTO, EKZ



Mr Timothée Hinchliffe Project Manager on Storage Economics, EDF

Followed by Q&A

13:00-14:00 Networking Lunch in the Exhibition area

14:00-16:00 Session IV - Energy Storage in the Grids of the Future



Moderator: Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE



Mr Rodrigo Sousa Suarez Responsible for EU Regulation, IBERDROLA



Dr Luis Costa SmartGrids R&D Manager, GE



Mr Antonio Bellver Key Programme Manager - Grid Scale Storage, ENGIE

Followed by Q&A

16:00-16:30 Lessons learned/Observations from Day 3

16:30-17:00 Closing Remarks: 'The way forward'



Mr Patrick Clerens Secretary General, EASE

